Multi-layered, moving family and father-daughter novel, haunting and atmospheric

In Karla’s family, everyone knows what it feels like not to belong. Karla experiences it as a child in Bremen Nord; her father Avi in a monastery school in Jerusalem; her grandmother Maryam as a guest worker in Germany; her great-grandmother Armine on the streets of Istanbul. With sensitivity and a fine sense of humour, Laura Cwiertnia traces the branching paths of an Armenian family and experiences so profound that they resonate through generations.

The children from the high-rise housing estate in Bremen Nord all know exactly from where their families originate: Turkey, Russia, Albania. But not Karla. All she knows is that her grandmother came to Germany from Istanbul as a guest worker in the 1960s, and that the family has Armenian roots. More is not said. But then when Karla’s grandmother dies, the name of a woman, Lilit, appears, along with an address in Armenia. Karla succeeds in persuading her father to go on a journey with her – to a homeland that neither of them has ever seen. Impressive and moving, Laura Cwiertnia relates how it feels to exist on the periphery of society, and what it is like when there is no own story to tell.

For readers of Nino Haratischwili (The Eighth Life), Ronya Othman and Olga Grajsnowa

Scandinavian rights available through agentur literatur Gudrun Hebel.

Fiction, 240 pages
Klett-Cotta Verlag

What is so compelling about this accomplished novel is its fine, clear tone, its precise observation of settings, its effortless transitions between time planes. You understand the characters, see them before you, with their eloquent body language and in their profound silences.

– NDR Kultur

The most moving and beautiful debut of the new year is Laura Cwiertnia’s […] novel WE HAVE A DIFFERENT NAME ON THE STREET, which tells of serious issues with great sensitivity, yet is full of hope and humour.

– Buchkultur